Broncos name Todd Davis 2017 Ed Block Courage Award winner

Broncos name Todd Davis 2017 Ed Block Courage Award winner


The Denver Broncos named linebacker Todd Davis their 2017 Ed Block Courage Award winner, the team announced Friday.

The award “honors players who exemplify commitments to the principles of sportsmanship and courage,” according to a press release from the team. Despite battling through injuries this season and missing two games, Davis currently ranks second on the team with 78 tackles.

“It’s huge for me to be chosen by my teammates and this great organization as somebody they feel is courageous and a really good teammate,” Davis said after practice Friday. “It feels good. I love this organization and I love my team. For them to show that much love to me, it really feels amazing.”

Davis joins a prestigious list of former Broncos that have won the award, including safety Dennis Smith, quarterback John Elway, receivers Ed McCaffrey and Rod Smith and running back Terrell Davis.

“Todd is special,” coach Vance Joseph said after practice Friday. “Todd is one of our best leaders. Todd plays with injuries. Todd never complains. Todd is the same guy every day. Todd is an example of being a great pro.

“Through the good times and through the bad times, Todd has never changed. His work ethic has never changed. If it’s a walkthrough, Todd is full speed. Todd is what I want all of our guys to aspire to be.”

Davis has recorded 175 tackles and 1.5 sacks since the 2016 season.

View Article on BroncosWire Here